Image of Jeffreys Bay Forver Logo

Kouga Local Municipality

The Kouga Local Municipality is just outside Port Elizabeth in Nelson Mandela Bay, stretching from Van Stadens River to Tsitsikamma River and from the coast inland to the beautiful Baviaanskloof Mountain Range.

The entire scope of the Kouga Municipality is made up of:
Oyster Bay
Jeffrey’s Bay
St Francis Bay
Cape St Francis
Gamtoos Mouth
Paradise Beach
Tokyo Sexwale
Ocean View
Aston Bay
Sea Vista
Ramaphoza Village

Kouga is characterised by three main environmental regions – mountains, valleys and coastline. The coastal areas include Jeffrey’s Bay, St Francis Bay and Oyster Bay. These have proven to be popular tourist attractions for their gorgeous beaches and the world-acclaimed surfing opportunities. The valley area is home to Gamtoos Valley, Hankey, Patensie, Loerie and Thornhill. This area’s stunning vegetation and vistas are ultimately relaxing for the busy traveller. The mountainous region comprises Humansdorp and Kruisfontein.

Considering the natural value of this area, it is surprising to note that approximately 70% of the people living here are situated within urban areas.

Informal settlements, or townships, include Kwanomzamo, Ramaphoza Village, Tokyo Sexwale and Umzamowethu.

Oyster Bay is a small, sparsely populated village, perched right on the beach. It is the site of many holiday homes and weekend getaways, although there remain a few residents that enjoy these stunning surrounds as part of their everyday routine. Oyster Bay has the advantage of being somewhat isolated from the hustle and bustle of big cities, while still being in close proximity to Humansdorp, a small town that is home to shops, fast-food restaurants, etc...

St Francis, Cape St Francis and St Francis Bay are all part of the greater St Francis region, known for its huge thatch-roofed houses just metres from either the breath-taking beach or the picturesque canal. This area is more exclusive than many of the other coastal villages around it, and boasts boutiques and top-notch restaurants. Its quaint harbour is productive, and fishermen frequent the docks with their catch of the day.

The Gamtoos Valley is made up of Hankey, Patensie and the Baviaanskloof. Hankey and Patensie are farming towns, popular for their ample yields of citrus fruits as well as other vegetables, tobacco, chicory and avocado pears. When in Patensie, visitors are urged to see the Kouga Dam, built in the late 1960’s. Avid hunters will also be pleased to participate in the various opportunities for game hunting in this area. Hankey is the oldest town in the Gamtoos Valley and is known for its original residents, the Khoi and Mfengos. Baviaanskloof is hidden between the mountain range of the same name and the Kouga Mountain Range. It is unique in that it offers such a wide diversity of plants, animals and scenery; from forests to bushveld, mountains to rivers. These provide prime hiking, camping and exploring opportunities for the entire family.

The Kouga Municipality in the Eastern Cape prides itself on its determination to ensure equity, harmony and prosperity to all through services that focus on the good of the people. Coupled with some of the country’s most beautiful towns and vistas, the Kouga region is certainly primed for tourist attraction on a local and international scale.